Skip to main content

PANDERAM

MOTIVATION
Many smartphone apps transmit personal data on a large scale without users being aware of it. These data often result in detailed personal profiles. Existing countermeasures require a high level of expertise or do not meet the requirements. Providers who refuse to collect excessive amounts of data are currently difficult for users to identify. Freedom of choice for more privacy is almost non-existent with apps.


GOALS AND APPROACHES
The PANDERAM project will develop methods to easily check smartphone apps and the Android operating system for privacy and data security. An evaluation system will also be developed to assess the privacy and security risks of integrated third-party providers. The results will be used to derive concrete recommendations for users, for example in the form of suggestions for alternative apps, changes in the settings of the device or in app authorisations. This information is presented in an understandable and interactive way and adapted to the respective user type. Two studies are planned to identify information needs in order to ensure motivation to use the developed solution.


INNOVATIONS AND PERSPECTIVES
As a result, users of apps and smartphones should be able to make autonomous decisions and select apps according to privacy criteria. The market for privacy-friendly apps is strengthened by this freedom of choice, as developers have incentives to offer them.

 

Project information

Coordinator
secuvera GmbH, Gäufelden

Partners
Technische Universität Berlin - DAI Labor
Institut für Technik & Journalismus e.V., Berlin
Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie (SIT), Darmstadt
Technische Universität Chemnitz

Contact person
Frank Kienzle
secuvera GmbH

e-mail: fkienzle[at]secuvera.de
phone: 07032-975829

Skip to main content

PANDERAM

Privatsphären-Analyse und nutzerspezifische Datenschutzempfehlungen für Apps und Mobilgeräte

 

MOTIVATION

Viele Smartphone-Apps übertragen personenbezogene Daten in größerem Umfang, ohne dass Nutzende es wissen. Aus diesen Daten entstehen oft detaillierte Personenprofile. Bestehende Gegenmaßnahmen erfordern viel Expertise oder gehen am Bedarf vorbei. Anbieter, die auf übermäßige Datensammlung verzichten, sind derzeit für Nutzerinnen und Nutzer schwer erkennbar. Wahlfreiheit für mehr Privatsphäre existiert bei Apps kaum.

ZIELE UND VORGEHEN

Im Vorhaben PANDERAM werden Verfahren entwickelt, mit denen Smartphone-Apps und das Android-Betriebssystem einfach auf Datenschutz und Datensicherheit überprüft werden können. Ein Bewertungssystem soll zudem das Privatsphäre- und Sicherheitsrisiko von eingebundenen Drittanbietern erfassen. Aus den Ergebnissen werden konkrete Handlungsempfehlungen für Nutzende abgeleitet, zum Beispiel in Form von Vorschlägen zu alternativen Apps, Änderungen in den Einstellungen des Gerätes oder bei den App-Berechtigungen. Diese Informationen werden verständlich und interaktiv dargestellt und an den jeweiligen Nutzertyp angepasst. Zwei Studien werden Informationsbedarfe erheben, um die Motivation zur Nutzung der entwickelten Lösung zu sichern.

INNOVATIONEN UND PERSPEKTIVEN

Im Ergebnis sollen Nutzende bei Apps und Smartphone souveräne Entscheidungen treffen und Apps nach Privatsphäre-Kriterien auswählen können. Der Markt für privatsphärenfreundliche Apps wird durch diese Wahlfreiheit gestärkt, da für Entwickler Anreize entstehen, solche anzubieten.

Projektinformationen

Verbundkoordinator
secuvera GmbH, Gäufelden

Partner
Technische Universität Berlin - DAI Labor
Institut für Technik & Journalismus e.V., Berlin
Fraunhofer-Institut für Sichere Informationstechnologie (SIT), Darmstadt
Technische Universität Chemnitz

Ansprechperson
Frank Kienzle
secuvera GmbH

E-Mail: fkienzle@secuvera.de
Telefon: 07032-975829