Skip to main content

SIMPORT

Sovereign and intuitive management of personal location information

MOTIVATION
Based on the GPS location history of a mobile phone, deep inferences can be made about a person's activities, place of residence, inclinations, beliefs or social network. Smartphones usually pass this information to apps and thus to companies by default, without clearly informing the users about possible risks in an understandable way and without providing detailed control options.

GOALS AND APPROACH
This is exactly where SIMPORT comes in: In the project, guidelines and software modules are developed for the sovereign management of personal location information on the mobile device.  In cooperation with partners from industry, the project will create open source software components to enable digital sovereignty regarding personal location information. With these components, users can clearly visualize possible inferences based on their personal location information so that they can better appreciate the advantages and disadvantages of sharing their location information. Users are thus informed about the risks precisely when they have to decide whether to share their personal data. For this purpose, innovative forms of interaction are being developed, which enable users to specify in detail which location data is to be shared when, with whom it is shared, and at what accuracy it is shared.

INNOVATIONS AND PERSPECTIVES
In close cooperation between computer science and social sciences, research is carried out on how to improve the awareness of risks and opportunities as well as to develop fine-grained control options for sharing personal location information. This will strengthen competence and sovereignty of smartphone users in deciding about their personal data.

 

 

Coordinator
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Partners
FH Münster
Technische Universität Berlin
Reedu GmbH & Co KG, Münster
HERE Deutschland GmbH, Berlin

Contact person
Prof. Dr. Christian Kray
Institut für Geoinformatik

e-mail: c.kray@uni-muenster.de
phone: +49 251 83-33073

Website
https://simport.net/

Skip to main content

SIMPORT

Souveränes und intuitives Management personenbezogener Ortsinformationen

MOTIVATION

Aus dem Verlauf des GPS-Standorts eines Mobiltelefons lassen sich tiefe Rückschlüsse auf Tätigkeiten, Wohnort, Neigungen, Überzeugungen oder das soziale Netzwerk einer Person ziehen. Die meisten Smartphones geben diese Informationen standardmäßig an Apps und somit an Unternehmen weiter, ohne die Nutzerinnen und Nutzer verständlich über Risiken aufzuklären oder detaillierte Kontrollmöglichkeiten bereitzustellen.

ZIELE UND VORGEHEN

Genau an diesem Punkt setzt SIMPORT an: Im Projekt werden Richtlinien und Softwaremodule für das souveräne Management der eigenen Ortsinformationen am mobilen Endgerät entwickelt. In Kooperation mit Industriepartnern entstehen frei verfügbare Softwarekomponenten. Diese erlauben es, mögliche Rückschlüsse aus den eigenen Ortsinformationen verständlich zu visualisieren und die Vor- und Nachteile der Weitergabe von Ortsinformationen besser zu verstehen. So werden Nutzende über die Risiken genau dann aufgeklärt, wenn sie über die Weitergabe dieser Daten entscheiden müssen. Dazu werden innovative Interaktionsformen entwickelt: Nutzerinnen und Nutzer können hier detailliert festlegen, welche Standortdaten wann, mit wem, und in welcher Genauigkeit geteilt werden.

INNOVATIONEN UND PERSPEKTIVEN

In enger Kooperation von Informatik und Gesellschaftswissenschaften wird erforscht, wie das Bewusstsein für Risiken, Chancen und Kontrollmöglichkeiten bei der Weitergabe von Ortsinformationen gestärkt werden kann. So wird die Entscheidungskompetenz von Smartphone-Nutzerinnen und -Nutzern gefördert.

Projektinformationen

Verbundkoordinator
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Partner
FH Münster
Technische Universität Berlin
Reedu GmbH & Co KG, Münster
HERE Deutschland GmbH, Berlin

Ansprechperson
Prof. Dr. Christian Kray
Institut für Geoinformatik

E-Mail: c.kray@uni-muenster.de
Telefon: +49 251 83-33073

Website
https://simport.net/